About as green as can be

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Patrick Cofell, Aug 12, 2018.

1. Patrick Cofell

Patrick Cofell Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hey everyone, thanks for welcoming me to this excellent forum. This is my first year hunting and I feel
    about as clueless as one can feel when starting a new endeavor. My friend gave me his old Mathews z3 and I'm eyeing public land just north of Duluth, MN. I don't really know where to start or what to do to get going. I just picked up a Moultrie trail cam and am looking for good land to post it. Hell, I'd have no idea how to process a deer even if I managed to arrow one. Should I hire a guide in my first hunt? What kind of deer stand should I get? Should I pick up more trail cams other than the one I have? If anyone could give me good advice, i'd greatly appreciate it.

2. w33kender

w33kender Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Longtime rifle hunter entering only his third year of bowhunting. Welcome aboard!

It is awesome that you've considered "after the shot," which is when the real work begins. Lots of info on youtube on the subject, like about any other project. Doing your own deer can be a lot of fun but make sure you have what gear you need in advance. Good luck!!!

Also, shot selection and placement is very, very important. Lots of good info on the web for that. Here are a couple links I like, sir.

https://www.realtree.com/deer-hunting/shot-placement-on-deer
    https://bowhunting360.com/2017/01/12/bowhunting-aim-whitetail-deer/
    http://bowsite.com/bowsite/features/articles/deer/deergeometry/

Mr.O and Patrick Cofell like this.
  3. Hogs need lovin too

Hogs need lovin too Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Just get ready to pour some time in and don't give up. I'm only about 5 years into hunting. Lots of trial and error when you don't have someone showing you what to do or where to go.

Sent from my iPhone using Bowhunting.com Forums

4. JasonOhio2018