Any boiler operators here?

Discussion in 'The Water Cooler' started by slickbilly-d, Jan 6, 2018.

1. slickbilly-d

slickbilly-d Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I’m a boiler operator at Indiana University, and while setting here on my 3rd 16 hour shift of the week, I got to wondering.... I wonder how other plants have their shift schedules set up and overtime works.

We work 6 days and then have two days off, and our days off rotate through the week. So week one is Monday Tuesday off, then the next week I’d have Tuesday Wednesday. This progresses through the week, until the sixth and seventh week and they are three day weekends. Fri sat sun....sat sun mon...then it starts back at Monday Tuesday.

2. Shocker99

Shocker99 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Not a boiler operator I’m in electrical dept. but work with our building maintenance who consist of millwrights and stationary engineers. We work straight overlapping 10hr shifts. A,B,C shift with a weekend shift also. Weekend shift is 2 shifts 12 hrs. You work 5 16’s? That’s brutal

Sent from my iPhone using Bowhunting.com Forums

3. slickbilly-d

Dislikes Received:
    If we pick up an overtime or if somebody calls in, we work 16 hours. We have 3 shifts, midnight to 8am, 8am-4pm, 4pm-12am. I’m on the 4-12 shift, but like last night, somebody on the midnight-8 shift called in, so I worked 4pm-8am. We run a minimum 4 man shift while burning coal or when 3 or more boilers are on.

I have worked 5-16’s though. It’s not safe! Lol

4. gri22ly

gri22ly Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Not a boiler operator, but work 12-14 hours a day, 12 days straight, then get 1 or 2 days off. Then right back at it for 12 more days. Been averaging around 75 hours a week for 15 year's now.

5. slickbilly-d

Dislikes Received:
    Ain’t nobody got time for that! I was just wondering what other plants do.

6. Shocker99

Dislikes Received: