Treestand help and realease aide help

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Jack57, Aug 6, 2017.

1. Jack57

Jack57 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hi,

I am brand new to bow hunting and this fall am hoping to do some bowhunting on some public land but I can not seem to sight my bow in at all. I have a PSE stinger X and I've started off with a trigger release aide but the suspense of when it will fire always messes with me and screws up my shot. So does anyone have any tips for me or anyone have any releases that they think would benefit me? Also next topic I'm looking to buy a treestand something light weight and something I can set up easily and move to tree to tree if I have to when I'm hunting public land so please if anyone has any ideas for treestand please let me know

Thank you

2. BB4tw

BB4tw Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
  3. sig239

sig239 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I used to have bad target panic. Make sure you are keeping your front shoulder steady in socket and try to release by using your back muscles. You'll be pulling with your back with your finger wrapped around your trigger. I try to be surprised if the situation allows. I hope that make sense.
    Check out Nock On with John Dudley. http://www.nockonarchery.com/

As for treestand, I bought a Summit Goliath. It is really comfortable and fairly light. But I wish I had got a hang on and climbing sticks now. At first the Summit was exactly what I needed. But now I want the versatility of the hang on.

4. Fix

Fix Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I would focus on your craft before worrying about getting into the woods. The last thing you wanna do is climb into a stand and not being completely comfortable hitting your Mark every time.. start very close ( 6-8 yards ) then move back as you get accurate. The key is knowing your rig and having the process of every shot being the same.