Equipment check.

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Sfsapper, Aug 6, 2017.

1. Sfsapper

Sfsapper Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I posted a thread about deer stands but I need some help with a couple other things. Early bow season starts here Oct 7. I have not hunted in 20 years and never bow hunted at all. My son has never hunted either. So just need to know some essentials.
    -Scent control? I picked up dead down wind starter kit. Is this stuff ok?
    -Tips on good scent control practice for clothes, body etc.
    -reccomendations on scent control clothing that is not too hot, it's still pretty warm in VA here in October sometimes.
    -Range finder. Do I realy need one? And if so can you recommend a good one that won't break the bank. I saw thermal also?
    -arrow heads, fixed or Mechanical? And a reccomendations. I know it's personal preference but I have no experience so I would like to draw on yalls experience
    -anything else you can reccomend to make this a great first time hunt for my son and a first time bow hunting for me. And I don't want to embarrass myself in front of the kid too badly. Haha

Tribeck likes this.
  2. boilerman

boilerman Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Well on scent control I like to know the prevailing winds in the area I am hunting and set up with the wind in my face and it will make the most difference in your hunts.
    Rangefinders that I use is a Wal-Mart special for about 150 bucks and is good to 600 yards. More than enough for you unless you can judge distances fairly accurate. I always use one.
    Arrow heads will depend on you bow weight. For light draws I would go with a fixed head and for heavier draws like 55 lbs and up go with a mechanical. Either will get the job done.