Thinking of a new bow.

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by TomTom1, Dec 9, 2016.

1. TomTom1

TomTom1 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I'am a bow hunter only, for the last 5 years I have shot the Matthews Z7 and it has served me well. Thinking of buying a new bow before the next season year. I'am thinking of the Matthews Halon 6. To the ones who is hunting with the Halon are there any disappointments?

2. GoInLight

GoInLight Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I'm by no means a bow expert, but I shot a Halon yesterday at my local archery shop. The one I shot was super smooth and had very little vibration. It did seem kinda heavy and bulky though. If you hunt on the move that might be a problem. Hope that helps some.

Sent from my iPhone using Bowhunting.com Forums

3. copperhead

copperhead Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Hey TomTom. They Halon 6 is indeed a great bow but I can't without a good conscience not tell you to keep your options open. Go to the shop and shoot a few different bows. You may find one that sticks out to you. Dont go in with a particular bow in mind just that you want to get something new. Anyone that tells you brand X is better than Y is only drinking the Koolaid. There are so many great options. Shoot a Mathews, Hoyt, Elite, Prime and Obsession if you can.

I start by picking them up. If I hold a bow and something feels off or out of balance it is immediately removed from consideration. That way you can rule some out pretty quickly.

I new bow is a financial commitment these days so you want to not rush into anything. :tu:

I have the H32 and to me the draw cycle is little on the stiff side. Other than that it performs fine. The longer straight riser does help to hold it steady. Im not sure if I care for the flat back grip yet. I still may switch to the focus but time will tell.

Good luck in finding a new bow.

4. Hillbilly Jedi

Hillbilly Jedi Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received: