Arrow spine question

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by JLhunts, Nov 1, 2016.

1. JLhunts

JLhunts Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    The arrows are easton axis 400s. So a 27" arrow with a 50grain brass insert and 100 grain broadhead, finished weight would be about 430 and pretty high FOC. Theyll be shot out of a bear effect 27" draw and 65lbs. Ive shot the same setup without the extra 50grains up front so will this extra weight weaken the spine? Should i go with a heavier spine?

Last edited: Nov 1, 2016
  2. bow nut

bow nut Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Yes, fixed blades if that's what you shoot, won't impact the same

3. b_fitnik

b_fitnik Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I have similar specs. 27.5" draw, 27" arrow, 26gr insert with 30gr insert weight(56gr total), 100gr, field point, 65lb draw. Not sure of your ibo but mine is 338fps. I shoot the 350 spine and they shoot and tune very well. I'm no professional but responded since our specs are so similar

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4. JLhunts

JLhunts Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Yea im in a 400 spine with my specs but just that extra weight up front. Be a waste to make them arrows with the insert and have then fly like crap. Thanks for the info guys

5. BB4tw

BB4tw Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Most spine charts are made with standard inserts and 100 grain tips used for the calculations.

If you add weight up front then you need to read the chart at least one block to the left. Another way to think about it would be to read your arrow length column one inch longer than what you actually have.

Charts and other people's setups are only rough starting points though. Trial and error is the true test to find out what you really need/like.

6. JLhunts

JLhunts Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: