When to stay in the stand all day

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Parkerg31, Sep 27, 2016.

1. Parkerg31

Parkerg31 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    This weekend is opening weekend for me here in the south, and it just so happens to work out that there will be a nice new moon for me. The wildlife moon predictor thing says that it is a five star day, and that the major feeding time is around 1-3pm and the minor times are morning and evening. That being said, who here here would advise me to pull an all day sit in the stand. I've never done it before but am totally willing to. I just wanted to prepare ahead of time and see what yall thought

2. smitty88

smitty88 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Don't burn yourself out with an all day sit this early. Wait until the rut ramps up or you get a good cold front. I usually only pull about 3 all day sits a year and they are all in November.

3. ash d

ash d Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Sit all day if you can. In NY we have 10 1/2 months in between deer season. Hunt hard who knows what might show. You won't know if you aren't out there. As long as you have multiple spots to hunt is a factor to.

4. henson59

henson59 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I usually don't sit all day until after Nov. 1st and even then the weather and the movement have to show me an all day sit is warranted.

5. Longdraw

Longdraw Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Closer to the rut, whenever you can.
    In the grand scheme: none of us are guaranteed tomorrow.
    $#!t happens good and bad. Enjoy an all day sit.

6. early in

early in Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    This is great advice!

I don't know about down south, but up here in Pa, the last week of Oct to the middle of Nov is prime time. I do a week straight of dark to dark hunts during the rut. Can't wait!

7. BlackHammer

BlackHammer Newb

Dislikes Received: