345 fps is slow?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Vabowman, Nov 23, 2015.

1. TeamFATBOY

TeamFATBOY Newb

Dislikes Received:
    WOW! My heads spinning. LOL! Since when did a change of brace height change a persons draw length? My old now back up bow has a 7.25 brace height and the bow I'm shooting now has a 6" brace height (32"ata+/-) and I have a 29" draw length and shoot the same 28" arrows with both bows. A bow with a short brace height also has a longer power stroke than a bow with a longer brace height where the arrow is on the string longer thus adding to the speed of the arrow. Also longer brace height bows tend to want to torque less which makes the longer brace height bows more forgiving. Of course I'm no expert and this is just my opinion for what it's worth.

2. davidingle

davidingle Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Im not saying it is going to change draw length.. I've shot a variety of bows all at 28". But what i'm saying is I am going to get more forgiveness from my 6" bh bow than someone shooting 30" draw length with a bow that has a 7" bh. My arrow isn't going to be on my string as long as someone with the longer draw length even though they have a longer bh. So my arrow will be on the string for 22" while the 30" draw would be on the string for 23"... more forgiveness with my setup... Not arguing anything, just thinking out loud.

3. TeamFATBOY

TeamFATBOY Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Gotcha and I'm also thinking out loud (scary)! LOL!
    I do know one thing for sure I learned a long time ago and that was to tune my bow to where my arrows flew true and hit where I aim, draw the bow, release the arrow, let the bow do it's job and try not to overthink everything. Haven't quite conquered that yet!

4. Vabowman

Vabowman Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: