345 fps is slow?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Vabowman, Nov 23, 2015.

1. azcoyote

azcoyote Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I REALLY hope to be able to test that soon. I am hunting in one of the hardest Spot and Stalk states out there. Arizona can be a really tough hunt with a rifle and this is my first year with a bow. Just a couple more weeks until pre-rut here and I should know something. I can tell you this. At 30 yards at the range, the arrow impact sound like someone hit the target with a bat and the things bury 10-12 inches on new foam. So, it sounds and feels like a good setup to me. I'm just glad I decided to start this now that the tech is so good that even the most humble setup is lethal.

2. Vabowman

Vabowman Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    ask Chuck Adams how well he did in 80's with a similar set up..... :)

3. muzzyman88

muzzyman88 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    To add, arrow speed is never much of an issue with typical shot distances at whitetails, out to 40 yards. I do believe a flatter trajectory might come in handy with our western counterparts who sometimes have to take shots at longer distances. I could be off base there though, just a theory.

The biggest thing for me is a bow that is forgiving, enjoyable to shoot and comfortable. I believe I've found a sweet spot in a 32-33" ATA, 7" brace bow. This is with my 28.5" draw length. If it draws nice, and is a shooter, then the added speed, if it has it, is just icing on the cake.

I'm just rather bummed out that a lot of these companies are pushing sub 7" brace bows, bragging about the added speed. If you're shooting a 6" brace bow, you should be at or above 350fps. But some of them aren't even getting that.

My point is, if you're going to sacrifice forgiveness/shootability by buying a 6" brace bow, wouldn't you expect it to have the speed? Because thats what shortening brace heights are intended to do, add speed. Otherwise, why not stay at 7" or above?

4. Coop