Team 4 Turkey contest

Discussion in '2015 Turkey Contest' started by anthonyzink, Mar 16, 2015.

1. S.McArthur

S.McArthur Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I find a field where they can come out to find some sunlight to warm up when its cold like that. I am no expert though, just some advice that has been passed to me from some good turkey hunters. I am getting rain the next two days but will be sunny on opening day.
    I was trying to write my school paper on my back deck yesterday evening and I heard what I think was 3 gobblers going nuts for about 3 hours. Makes focusing on my school work really hard.

As far as times, I have been told early season listen for the hen and mimic here to a T. If she calls 7 times you do the same 7 times. I was told not to try and call in the gobbler, but to piss off the boss hen and she will bring the Toms to you. I usually have good luck calling Toms after 9:30/10-noon. I killed my bird at 10am last year. I hope to put bird up this weekend.

2. foodplot19

foodplot19 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    My wife called me at work today to let me know she could hear a couple of Tom's goggling down the the bottom. Good times!!!!

3. bry2211

bry2211 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    From what ive found each tom likes different calls. Tonight I was just messing around and had a long beard come in but he liked the yelps and the purs but would shutup when I started cutting. Sometimes cutting will get them really fired up. Not this guy. Season doesn't start til april 20 for me but I was just playing. I could've killed this one.

Im so pumped about getting out there.

4. bry2211

bry2211 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: