Holy Cross Wilderness vs. Eagles Nest Wilderness - Colorado Backcountry Hunt

Discussion in 'Big Game Hunting' started by Dcmcmill, Mar 23, 2015.

1. Dcmcmill

Dcmcmill Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Gents,

As a CO resident, I am trying to get a muley, bear, and elk OTC tag for 2015. I hunted all last year covering several miles a day, all wilderness areas, but was not able to get any meat. I noticed last year that hunting Byers Peak Wilderness, Vasquez Wilderness, and Eagles Nest Wilderness - the issue was that the trails had a TON of non-hunters on them. Even at 5 miles in, we had a group of 6 hikers come through our drainage at nearly 12,000 feet. I am looking for a better wilderness unit, with less foot traffic in general, and the most difficult terrain (to keep people away). Unfortunately, I don't have the time to be able to properly scout wilderness areas that are way off the beaten path. My assumption is that the further I can get from Denver, the less issues I will have with people. But I do need to consider travel time. I am getting ready to close on my first home purchase in Frisco and feel that my best option would be to explore Holy Cross Wilderness. Questions for you gents:

1) Has anyone hunted Holy Cross Wilderness? Thoughts?
    2) Are there any guides that service this area? I have been looking around online and actually have not found anyone who really guides there?
    3) I am ultimately debating Eagles Nest vs. Holy Cross. HC has a 14'er on the far east side of the wilderness and gets a ton of traffic - but Eagles Nest is 30 miles closer to denver and has to deal with the 10's of thousands of people that lives in Frisco, Dillon, Silverthorne.....

Any help is much appreciated!
    dustin

2. bz_711

bz_711 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received: