Ohio public land hunt

Discussion in 'Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by MI_Brad, Jan 17, 2016.

1. MI_Brad

MI_Brad Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Thinking about putting together a public land whitetail hunt in Ohio. Looking for any info I can get, locations, guides?, which season to hunt, pretty much everything lol. all info is greatly appreciated

2. Suncrest08

Suncrest08 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    There is TONS of public land to hunt in Ohio, my advice to you is to pick an area where you are considering heading to and find multiple public lands surrounding a centralized area and just make a trip and go scout them. I have been hunting Ohio public for the past 5 years and it takes a lot of boots on the ground to figure out where the deer are and where they go when the pressure gets high. Every trip out I learn new stuff by travel in farther and deeper into different tracts of land. Ohio has a site that provides maps and details of the land that's available. Find one that peaks your interest and hunting style and go scout it out. I typically have my best luck around the rut just like anywhere else, I dont hunt gun season in Ohio it's a circus at least where I have been. Went out the first year and that was enough for me. Archery is typically less pressure in most lands, the harder the access the better chances you will be by yourself out there. Get a GPS also that thing saved my butt a few time and you can make points where you put stands or to mark sign. Good luck!!

3. MI_Brad

MI_Brad Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Thanks for the reply, That's probably what I'll end up doing, any suggestions on general areas? I have heard Coshocton, Licking, and Muskingum counties are good.

4. Daryl Bell

Daryl Bell Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I would love to do an Ohio hunt as well!

5. JMann11

JMann11 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: