After the kill

Discussion in 'Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by Shocker99, Sep 10, 2015.

1. Shocker99

Shocker99 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Im sure there is probably a previous post about this but if there is i havent read it. Just thought it would be interesting to hear what everyones favorite deer gutting and/or skinning knives are... do you have an old favorite passed down from Gramps or something new you cant wait to get blood on??? I personally like a little bit bigger knives for gutting than most do. Ive been using a SOG field pup for the last 6 or 7 years but just recently bought a Benchmade Bushcrafter for an all purpose knife. I like a knife big enough to rip theough the chest with little effort. My skinning/boning knives are all forschner and victorinox, well just because they are the best!

2. remmett70

remmett70 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I carry two knives both Buck's. Folding Omni Hunter 12PT Knife, its is my heavy duty general purpose knife.

For gutting and skinning, I use a BuckLite MAX Small Sheath Knife. It has a good blade size and the sheath knife is easier to clean the blood and guts from than a folding blade.

3. JaminWI

JaminWI Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I'm a fixed blade guy as well as they're simpler to clean. I have a couple I bounce between but I too like a larger blade. Keep it hair popping sharp and I can pop through the chest cavity no problem. Also seem to work better cutting around the anus.

For processing I bring out the Wüsthof and get busy.

4. uncljohn

uncljohn Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
  5. Swise660

Swise660 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I use my grandpa's old fixed blade Western knife. Beautiful knife with a leather wrapped handle that is in great shape from being taken care of. It's the only knife my grandpa had used. My grandpa had passed away close to 10 years ago now. My dad held onto that knife and gave it to me last year.