Shakes

Discussion in 'Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by rraclawski, Nov 12, 2014.

1. rraclawski

rraclawski Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Alright I'm new to this forum but this past weekend I missed a 150 inch 10 point due to the shakes. Any tips on how to over come those? By the way I've been hunting for 9 years.

2. jlamb14

jlamb14 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Personally, I just look at the rack and confirm that its a shooter and proceed to make the shot. The more you think to yourself
    "wow its a monster" the more nervous you make yourself. Spend less time studying the rack and more time focusing on the shot, and in the wise words of Mel Gibson " Aim small, miss small".

3. Bootlegger

Bootlegger Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Years ago I use to get nervous and shake. Now, it don't bother me till after I shoot. Then I have to sit down...lol. I just put into my mind years ago. None of it will matter or count for anything unless I make a good shot....lol. It has worked for me for a long time now, but once I shoot. Well....I better sit down for a few...lol. Thats when it hits me now.

4. CoveyMaster

CoveyMaster Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    It's all mental, it's just another deer like countless others we've killed in the past...big deal, just get it done. Nothing to get jittery about, you either want it or you don't, will kill it or you won't...tomorrow will dawn anew either way.

5. Beehunter

Beehunter Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    2 things that helped me deal with the shakes in my early bowhunting days.

First, if it was a antlered buck, I never paid much attention to the rack. You will know at a glance if you want to take a shot at him or not. There is plenty of time to survey the rack and count the points after you have the deer on the ground.