Brand new. Need some help, ideas etc.. anything you can throw at me!

Discussion in 'Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by siker, Oct 25, 2014.

1. siker

siker Newb

Dislikes Received:
    So im new to hunting. Like i just passed hunter safety about a week ago.

Im in Wisconsin hunting whitetail deer on public land (for now) if that helps narrow down what i need help with.....

My first time hunting for deer was kinda meh... I was alone, didnt know what i was doing.. every freaking chipmunk that moved sounded like a deer... Now i understand its not gonna be a fire work show.. but i dont feel prepared at all. Im completely lost at like 90% of what im doing... I really dont have anyone to help me out.

Its actually really sad that i get out of the woods for the night, walk back to the truck to wait for my other hunting party, and i heard some rustling in the bushes by the entrance... thinking it was a squirrel or another hunter coming back in, i walked to it to see.. and a doe jumped out and ran in the direction where my stand was... just my luck right.... and it was like 30-40 mins after the hunting time was done so i didnt even have a chance.. or would be willing to risk taking that....

Sooo here are some main questions i have.....

1. calls.. what kind to get.. brand, sound etc... Electronic or should i get the one where i have to make them? how often should i use them.. if at all. What kind should i use when? How do i know when its a good time..
    and antler racks.. should i get some to rattle?

2. Scent blocker had a great sale the other day, and i got some Rutting Buck urine. I read that i should put some on a towel and drag it while i get to a spot in the woods? When to use that. How often. and other types of lures.. i have some more on hand that i havent looked at what kind.. but i dont want to misuse them.. or scare away a deer by using the wrong one..