How do you call for deer?

Discussion in 'Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by Ethanb214, Jul 16, 2014.

1. Ethanb214

Ethanb214 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I am fairly new to hunting whitetail and i decided to get some calls to experiment and to just learn how to call whitetails. i have knight and hale pack rack, a buck grunt call, and some doe bleat calls and estrus bleats. i would like to know how often you should call, if you can overcall deer and scare them away, how and when to use the calls, and how to get them close enough for me to harvest one with my recurve. If anyone has any techniques it would be great if you could share them too.

2. Rutin

Rutin Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    My personal opinion.... I'm sure a lot will disagree and some will agree.

I don't call at anything I don't intend to kill. For me that's usually only a particular buck I'm hunting. I wont call if I think I can kill him naturally without drawing attention. I've seen way to many people call at small bucks and does just to get their attention. WHY? All your doing is educating them! They already have a huge advantage so why educate the young ones that your hunting there. Once they know your stand is there they will most likely continue to look for it throughout the season (besides rut).

I don't call unless the particular buck I want to kill is just out of range, simple grunt. If no response I wait a few seconds and call slightly louder, if he hears but doesn't respond I will wait a little bit longer. Then try a snort wheeze to get his attention. If he isn't coming then he's prob not going to. Not all bucks are aggressive. Different areas of the states will be different too.... Texas/KS has a huge success rate compared to OH, not saying it wont work here. To keep it simple, be stealthy, be quiet and don't call just to call.

3. Slugger

Slugger Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Just let one rip

4. Spear

Spear Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: