Newbie question

Discussion in 'Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by nanook, Sep 6, 2012.

1. nanook

nanook Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I know this is kind of a lame question but its my first time hunting whitetail. I don't have a pickup truck just a Tahoe and I got a basket for my trailer hitch. How the hell am I supposed to get the beast in the basket by myself??? Hope you all can offer some tips.... I'm dying for the season to get here!

Thanks!

2. ALL4HUNTIN

ALL4HUNTIN Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Before I had a truck (and that was a long time ago), what I would do is use a long rope. Throw it over a tall limb. Tie one end to the deer and one to the truck. Back up/pull forward and hoist the deer up just off the ground. Tie the rope off. Now, back the hitch haul that is in the receiver hitch under the deer. Slowly let the rope down.. I know it is a long process, but will save your back in the future ..

Think with your mind, not your muscles.. You could end up fighting that dead buck for a long time.. and get beat.. LOL...

Hope that helps..

If there is a ditch close by, put the buck at the top of the ditch. Back the truck and hitch haul into the ditch. At least the buck will be going down hill. Gravity would be your friend..

3. ILLbucknut

ILLbucknut Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Shot small deer.... problem solved. lol

4. Fitz

Fitz Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Unless it's a huge buck, you should be able to lift it in one end at a time. You can always make a little ramp to drag it up from the side. Another option is to back the vehicle to a slope where you wouldn't have to lift as high.

At our camp in Wi, we use rope ratchets to hang our deer. I used one of those and a tree to load my Thanks Giving buck onto a 4wheeler by myself last fall. Ratcheted the head up as high as I could, backed the wheeler up, hoisted the back end on the the rack, lowered the front end on :tu:

[​IMG]

5. rizzo999