good filming set up

Discussion in 'Videography & Photography' started by jordanharley15, Nov 9, 2014.

1. jordanharley15

jordanharley15 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    whats some of you guys filming set up? would like to try filming my hunts this year and im wondering how i should begin/start out. thanks

2. BigPhil_H

BigPhil_H Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Welcome to the site Jordan, where in NC are you from? I'm from Fuquay, maybe 15 minutes south of Raleigh.

Anyways, this is my first year filming also. I have a Canon VIXIA HF R30 (your average consumer handycam) mounted on a Velbon fluid head and a Muddy Outfitter arm. I really like it and although it doesn't have all of the features that a higher dollar camera would, I went with this to find out if it's something I really wanted to get into; looks like I'll be upgrading for next season.

3. copperhead

copperhead Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Start out with what you have and if you dont have anything start cheap. Get a used camera for about 200 bucks and a long bow holder and the muddy micro camera mount and a camo pack from walmart to hold it. Filming can be great but can also be fustrating so start small to see if you like and and upgrade from there. If you decided to upgrade you can use the first setup for a secondary angle so no lose. Good luck and I hope you enjoy it.

4. TheHardWoods913

TheHardWoods913 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received: