Xa30

Discussion in 'Videography & Photography' started by Roughtimber, Jan 21, 2016.

1. Roughtimber

Roughtimber Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Anyone have or thinking about getting the new Canon xa30? I've been really on the fence about getting the Sony pxw-x70 or the new xa30.

2. DEC

DEC Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Not enough improvements over my XA20.

Still no 4k which blows my mind. I was not a 4k proponent until I started playing with 4k on a co-worker's Sony. The frame grab images are incredible and the ability to use the extreme resolution in a 720 or 1080 work flow is outstanding.

I am waiting on the XA series to go to 4k before I upgrade.

Last edited: Jan 22, 2016
  3. Ryan A

Ryan A Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I was disappointed with the lack of 4K upgrade as well. Canon is falling way behind.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4. Roughtimber

Roughtimber Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hey Derek what type of Sony were you using?

5. Creeks

Creeks Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Canon is doing the samething they did when I was in Photography...They are letting Nikon take the lead in Still Cameras...Now it looks like there going to let someone else have the Video Market as well...That way they can sell there Money Maker...printers....
    LOL

6. DEC

DEC Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I have a co-worker who runs a Sony FDR-AX33, it is about a $1,000 camera. He shoots video of his hunts in 4k. The daylight footage is amazing and the stills that he pulls are incredible. Now that being said, there is a ton that I do not like about the camera for professional use. But for a small consumer camera it is a heck of a nice camera.

If I was going to buy a Sony it would be a PXW-X70 ($2,000).

Being a Canon guy though I will sit on my XA20 until either something significantly better from Canon is introduced or they finally make the move to 4K in this form factor of a camera.

7. Skywalker

Skywalker Grizzled Veteran