Slate friction call

Discussion in 'Turkey Hunting' started by Airassault2010, May 12, 2014.

1. Airassault2010

Airassault2010 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I'm new to turkey hunting and just purchased a slate friction call. I cannot get it to make any kind of sound at all. I've prepped the surface, I'm holding correctly as I understand it but no sound. A mouth call was easier for me to get the hang of. Am I doing something wrong or did I just buy a call that doesn't work? I have a Primos Ol' Betsy.

2. jfergus7

jfergus7 Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Sounds like either you haven't prepared the slate enough or you might need to sand down the bottom of your striker a bit. They are really easy to use once you have them setup right. I think they are way easier then mouth calls.

3. Airassault2010

Airassault2010 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Would sand paper be the best to use to sand the striker? I'm guessing a fine grade would be the one to use.

4. jfergus7

Dislikes Received:
    you could if it needs it. Check out youtube and do some searches for prepping videos and also how to use it! I just got my first calls last week and put them all to the test this weekend and they worked and sounded great. I was able to call in several hens and went back and forth with them several times!

5. jfergus7

Dislikes Received:
    And by the way. Welcome to the site!!! Should go introduce yourself in the new member section!

6. Christine

Christine Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I think you and I bought the same calls. Mine has a surface like glass and makes zero noise. I've used one before so, I know how they work. I thought maybe there was a piece of protective plastic over the slate or something because it's so smooth. I'd take it back but I bought up in the city 60 miles away.

Unless it works like a dog whistle, I don't think it's going to do me much good. :(

7. jfergus7

Dislikes Received: