Mossberg 835 HELP

Discussion in 'Turkey Hunting' started by CCase26, Apr 15, 2014.

1. CCase26

CCase26 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I just got a new mossberg 835 a couple weeks ago. It is the 24in ported barrel with the fiber optic sights. Yesterday I was turkey hunting and I missed two birds in one day. Talk about a rough day. I couldn't believe it. I went back to the house and I shot at a target at 50 yards and I realized that the gun was shooting almost a foot and a half high at 50 yards. Has anyone else had this problem with these sights? I really don't want to have to go out and buy a red dot for it because I am a full time college student on a budget lol. I'm not sure if the front bead isn't high enough or what. Any advice would help. Hate that this has happened to me right when the action is good.

Last edited: Apr 15, 2014
  2. WiRutJunkie

WiRutJunkie Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I'm hardly a gun expert but why did you buy a rifled barrel for turkey loads? That may be an issue, not sure though.

3. CCase26

CCase26 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I'm not gun expert either and I think i described the barrel wrong. Its vented near the end of the barrel. I think its called ported not rifled. My bad.

4. TwoBucks

TwoBucks Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Field guns naturally shoot high. It's intention is that you can see the bird or animal you are shooting at and don't cover it up with your sight. That is normal and also why it's a good idea to shoot a target first:)
    I learned this from shooting trap for 9 years with my beretta 391 and talking with all the guys out at the range. My gun shoots not that high but I usually pull the trigger at 25-35 yards

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

5. TwoBucks

TwoBucks Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    And it's a different gun so that might make a difference too :)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

6. Slugger

Slugger Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: