mouth calls.

Discussion in 'Turkey Hunting' started by _DANNY_, Aug 19, 2011.

1. _DANNY_

_DANNY_ Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    i cant seem to get it down. i have been using it for a long time now 3 months or so. i feel my hen yelp is to high. i have looked at video after video nothing seems to help do you guys suggest a nice mouth call i'm looking to get a new one, something i can do a range of turkey talk on. any tips would be great thanks a lot guys!

note* i'm using the Diamond Select 3 by primos

2. Afflicted

Afflicted Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I'm with you. I use one but I'm not consistent.
    Thinking of going to a slate call or box call.

3. srtiek

srtiek Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    i use to be good with them but after i had jaw surgery i can not seem to get it down again.

4. indynotch50

indynotch50 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I have an hour drive home from work. I keep it in there to practice with. After a few months I can just barely make a noise. I Fail at mouth calls.

5. cvick48

cvick48 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    it took me a long time to get down. i used to use the cheap brands just for learning and i could never get it. then i bought a more expensive brand(i think it was flex tone) and immediately i had it on the first try. its really hard to explain how to do it but you just need to keep trying different tongue positions. practice makes perfect!

6. KyleLewis

KyleLewis Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I found sometimes trimming the call down to fit better can help alot. Cut of little at a time until it fits better. Also bending them a little can help too. Good luck man!

7. Afflicted

Dislikes Received:
    Is it better to just go with a slats or box call?
    I like how small and easy the mouth calls are to have on you but if you can't get them to call in jakes and Tom's then.......?

8. houseoftoes

houseoftoes Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: