Samick Sage or PSE Recurve

Discussion in 'Traditional Archery' started by Johnnie, Jan 22, 2014.

1. Johnnie

Johnnie Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I am new to the Traditional Archery Arena. Many of my friends are pushing me to purchase a PSE because the owner of the shop is a friend of theirs. They all shoot compounds and have no experience with recurves. I am told that I will not be happy with a recurve and pushing me to purchase a compound bow!

In your opinion, which bow will be of a better quality and allow me to grow with it? What are you shooting with?
    Your input is greatly appreciated!! Thank You ...... John

2. recurvestalker

recurvestalker Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I love my samick sage, it was my first bow, and great to learn on. I've never liked PSEs much at all, I just think they are ugly, for starters, but I haven't shot any of the newer models. If you want a compound I highly recommend the g5 quest rogue. It's draw cycle is comparable to my new creed, and it's very effective. That said, nothing matches the feeling of holding and shooting a traditional bow, and getting a deer with one is downright magical.

3. Johnnie

Johnnie Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Thank you recurvestalker for taking the time to comment on my question. Your input is appreciated .... Happy Shooting!

4. huntandbushcraft

huntandbushcraft Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I love my Sammick sage, I am still trying to refine my form and develope good shotting form. The sammick is helping me greatly along the way.

5. huntandbushcraft

huntandbushcraft Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Also with the sage, it is a takedown bow, so when your ready to up the draw weight you will be able to switch out the limbs for a stiffer pair.

6. Johnnie

Johnnie Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Thanks huntandbushcraft for your comment. I am beginning to see good comments on the Samick Sage. It seems to get some very good reviews on various internet sales sites. ... Happy Shooting!