Recurve Bow - Whitetail Deer Hunting

Discussion in 'Traditional Archery' started by TedderX, Dec 20, 2016.

1. TedderX

TedderX Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I'm not new to hunting but I am new to archery hunting. I use a Marlin 336A for whitetail deer, Mossberg 500 for Turkey, and Ruger 10/22 for squirrel and rabbit.

So, I know enough to know I need more information in order to make my archery hunting ethical and respectable.

So here we go with some basic questions for a new archery hunter (and yes, practice, practice, practice, I get it):

Please keep in mind I'm looking strictly at Recurve Bows and Whitetail Deer hunting:

1. What poundage is need to kill a deer? My state (Georgia) has no regulations on this that I can find. I'm assuming 45 lbs is a good starting point but I am unsure. I do know that if you get into compound bows you can go upwards to ~80 lbs but I THINK that is more so due to longer shots.

2. What range can you expect to ethically shoot and reliably kill with a 45 lbs bow? 20 yards? 30 yards?

3. I know the market has gone to carbon arrows but are aluminum arrows still "acceptable" means of hunting use? Or do you need to stick with wood arrows for recurve bows?

4. What size broadhead is acceptable to use? I've been doing a little window shopping at a couple stores already. One fella told me I need 85 grains due to the recurve bow having less strength. Yet, I find that it seems the "standard" is 125 grains.

5. Fletching. It was explained to me that on a recurve you "need" feather fletching, especially if you're shooting off the bow itself instead of a raised shelf. The reason for this is if the rubber fletching hits the bow, it will slightly deflect the arrow.

6. Target shooting. Does the grain of the target head need to match the grain of the broadhead for consistency's sake?

7. For target shooting, is there much of a difference between a target head and field head?