The time has come..

Discussion in 'Traditional Archery' started by Jake/PA, Nov 18, 2015.

1. Jake/PA

Jake/PA Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I have decided to join the traditional family. The thing is I have very little knowledge on set ups and anything else dealing with traditional bows. That said, I have a ton of questions that I'd love for you guys to answer.

- Is there any good resources (websites, forums, books) on getting started into trad?

- Not sure if I'll be hunting with it next year, just depends on how much progress I make. But what would be a good starter recurve? I wanted to buy a nice one but think it would be better starting out with a cheap one. Am I right in that thinking?

- My draw length on compounds is 27", will that stay the same? Also, what kind of bow poundage should I start with?

- What should my arrow set up look like? Carbon? Weight? Broadhead recommendations?

- Anything I missed? Feel free to add anything you would like.

Thanks guys!

2. Carolina_Bowhunter

Carolina_Bowhunter Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Welcome to the group! One thing I can say is that once you try it, there is no going back! This is the only kind of archery that I will do!

- Here is a very good forum, that has helped me a lot along the way. http://tradgang.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=forum;f=224;hardset=0;start_point=0;DaysPrune=0
    The folks on there are very nice, and will answer any questions you may have!

- A really good starter recurve you can get is the Samick Sage. It is very in-expensive, and is very good quality. Another good bow to start with is the Greatree Osprey. It is for a little more money, for some better quality. It also (in my opinion) fits a lot nicer into the hand, and looks a lot nicer too!