New to Traditional Archery

Discussion in 'Traditional Archery' started by Archer95, Jan 2, 2015.

1. Archer95

Archer95 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hey all,

I have been hunting with a compound bow for about two years now. I shoot 29in carbon arrows tipped with a variety of rage 100g broad heads. However, I have always had a fascination with traditional archery. Well I got my first recurve (a 50lb. 62in. Sage) yesterday. I would like to use it this upcoming archery season. I know it's a bit early to be thinking about all this since season is not for 9ish months here in Colorado, but I figure I should start practicing and preparing now. So I have a few questions for you all.

1) What sort of arrows should I use?
    2) How long should my arrows be?
    3) Should I get mechanical or fixed blade broad heads? Recommendations?
    4) Should I mount my bow with arrow rests, string silencers, ect?

Any other advice or information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Archer95

2. ARCHER_CHI_RHO

ARCHER_CHI_RHO Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    never too early to prepare for next season =)

1) What sort of arrows should I use? Depends on if you want to go full trad or semi. I use carbon arrows that look like wood personally.
    2) How long should my arrows be? Depends on your set up (spine etc). My arrows sit a couple inches over my riser/fingers.
    3) Should I get mechanical or fixed blade broad heads? Recommendations? I personally like my fixed blade Magnus Stingers.
    4) Should I mount my bow with arrow rests, string silencers, ect? I should a longbow, shooting off the shelf. I don't know what your bow looks like, but I can't mount anything to mine. It's entirely up to you if you can.

if you don't get immediate answers here, i would recommend going to tradgang or tradtalk if you haven't already.

have fun shooting! =)

3. Archer95

Archer95 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Thanks. I'll check them out.

4. Zedd

Zedd Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: