VIEWPOINT-Elitist Attitude

Discussion in 'Traditional Archery' started by VA Bowbender, Apr 14, 2014.

1. VA Bowbender

VA Bowbender Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I will probably get jumped all over for this but I have to express what I'm seeing.

I've been shooting recurves for over 50 years. When I started there was no "traditional" archery we were all just Bowhunters or Archers. As compounds came into their own there became an elitist attitude among them where they looked down at the recurve and longbow shooters. They also developed somewhat of a snobby attitude toward each other. Now I see a lot of admiration for what we can do with our bows.

Now what I'm seeing on different forums is a complete reversal of roles. The "traditional" shooters are developing the same attitude toward the high tech archers and even among the ranks of traditional shooters.

Now I do have to say that when I go to some of the various rendezvous there still exists a tight camaraderie.

If we are to maintain what we all love to do, shoot arrows at things, shouldn't we try to find a more common ground? Or the famous quote "can't we all just get along"?

How do you feel about this? Have you seen the same? Why?

Try to keep it a civil discussion.

Sent from my iPad Mini using Tapatalk
    Bows, Broadheads and Backstraps

2. BACKSTRAPASSASSIN

BACKSTRAPASSASSIN Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I see the traditional bash the compounds...been that way since I started bow hunting....i only see it on the Internet and the forums though...noone I hang out is ignorant enough to care what anyone uses....if its a legal hunting device then more power to ya....traditional is way more BA than compounds in my opinion....I've never shot one but admire the idea and skill greatly

Tony and his crossbow mumbo jumbo would be thrown out of camp though:p;)

3. Sticknstringarchery

Sticknstringarchery Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: