New to Recurve hunting

Discussion in 'Traditional Archery' started by candleman, Dec 23, 2013.

1. candleman

candleman Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hi I am new to bow hunting and all I have right now is my grandpa's old recurve bow and some terrible practice arrows I plan to replace. He has traditional arrows with feathers for the fletching with sharp points for broadheads ( or at least I think it is I haven't seen the real arrows for a while ). I am familiar with the bow have shot it since I was 6 ( I was pretty strong ) and the draw weight is 55 lbs ( I think ). In Ohio you need at least 40 lbs of draw weight and at least 2 cutting edges ( exposed or unexposed ) minimum 3/4" width, expandable or mechanical broadheads. I want to use it for deer and possibly turkey. I want to buy some new broadheads if they are cheap enough ( 3 pack for 30+ dollars, holy **** ! ). The season doesn't end for another month or two ( around the middle or end of February ) so I have plenty of time to practice. My main question is how do I aim with it ? Is it just instinct ? Muscle memory ? I don't want to add any changes to my grandpa's bow except I will use a mechanical release otherwise my hands hurt the next day and after 20 or so shots. I am a youth ( 13.5 years old ) so my grandpa or friend from Church have to be with me, and I don't want to make a bad shot, so how to I train with a bow ? I am good with a high power air rifle ( pellet rifle ) in .22 caliber, so my gun skills are good. Bow hunting just seems fun vs. slug gun hunting. Any help would be great

2. VA Bowbender

VA Bowbender Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received: