LTB an old pickup

Discussion in 'The Water Cooler' started by CoveyMaster, Jan 27, 2019.

1. CoveyMaster

CoveyMaster Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    My dad had a 1979 F-250 4x4 pickup with a 400 and C-6 automatic when I was growing up and I always loved that truck. Lost dad back last Sept and I got to thinking I'd like to have his old truck back or a substitute. If anyone knows of one sitting around, let me know as I'd be interested in buying it even in rough shape. I'd also take one with a 460 in it. Long bed and dual fuel tanks would be a plus and I'd be interested in a dually as well. I'm a fair mechanic and body man so in need of work doesn't scare me. $1000 to $5000 range would be great.

Rick James likes this.
  2. Sota

Sota Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Much respect I am also looking for a solid travel all to redo.

CoveyMaster likes this.
  3. Okiebob

Okiebob Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Just looked at a '79 a couple weeks ago, guy wanted $9,500 for it. Wish I had taken another photo, it had a sweet custom flatbed. If distance isn't a factor, look around New Mexico and Arizona. I have found a few in good shape and decent prices. Myself, I'm looking to get an F-100 Ranger, preferably '74. 20180911_111144.jpg

Sota and CoveyMaster like this.
  4. CoveyMaster

Dislikes Received:
    I finally found one on Facebook Marketplace! Been looking there and craigslist for a while. This one got listed and I spoke for it within an hour.
    1979 F-250 Ranger supercab 460 with a c6 automatic 4x4 with dual tanks. Things are damn hard to come by, going to pick it up Tuesday. Needs work but it runs and drives and under $2K...damn. I've seen restored ones go for $25-$30K and all stock. (of course it'll probably eat $15k worth of parts and labor, lol)