Increase Poundage

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by doublea17, Jan 30, 2017.

1. doublea17

doublea17 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Sorry if this has been asked. I'm new to all this and if this has been asked before please send me in right direction been trying to look this up but not sure if wording it right.

If I increase the draw weight on my bow 5 to 10 pounds do i need to sight in my bow again. Does the increase in DW effect my sights/yardage, shoot higher/lower or is it the same but just gets there faster.

Thanks
    Doublea17

2. remmett70

remmett70 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Absolutely you will need to resight the bow. Wont be a big adjustment at 20 yards but will be significant at 40.

Make sure you don't need different spined arrows for the change of weight.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

early in likes this.
  3. RGV Hunter

RGV Hunter Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Definitly check your arrows and make sure your arrows are still spined correctly for the weight you are drawing. Like remmett70 says, you will need to resight the pins.

4. doublea17

Dislikes Received:
    Thanks for the help. Increased DW yesterday, just need to get to range and rest pins.

5. BB4tw

BB4tw Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I recommend making a few small incremental increases instead of one large one it will help you to maintain good form and avoid developing bad shooting habits

Sent from my VS500 using Bowhunting.com Forums mobile app

6. doublea17

Dislikes Received:
    One more question on increase DW when it says 2-4pounds per limb per turn so if I turn each limb one full turn it is a 4 to 8 pound increase. So if I'm shooting at 50 I just went up to 54-58pounds correct.

7. RGV Hunter

Dislikes Received: