Hunting Leases

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Benny_Bucks, Mar 21, 2017.

1. Benny_Bucks

Benny_Bucks Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I've never done a lease before, but I wouldn't be opposed to it since it is next to impossible to find a new place to hunt around where I live. My question is to guys/gals who have leased land before...what is the going rate for land to lease? I'm sure the size and location of the land will have an effect on the price but just looking for some input!

2. Rick James

Rick James Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    In Northern IL, typically anywhere from $25-30 an acre. If you can get lucky and find a landowner that doesn't know what the going rate is you might get yourself into something for the $20 an acre range, but finding this is going to require you finding someone that hasn't leased before and isn't aware of the going rates on the lease broker websites.

Benny_Bucks likes this.
  3. Westfinger

Westfinger Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Remember those rates on the broker websites include a mark up for the broker. Your offer may look like less but it could be more than what the farmer is getting after the broker takes their cut.

Skywalker likes this.
  4. Rick James

Rick James Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    It's not as much as you think. I've talked with probably 20 people over the past couple years who actively lease their land every year and if they have leased in the past, they are gonna typically expect $25-$30 an acre. If the landowner goes without a broker, it's because they want to pocket that extra $$ for the hassle of dealing with it directly, they rarely pass that on to the lessee.

Benny_Bucks likes this.
  5. Benny_Bucks

Benny_Bucks Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Are there any other online lease networks other than the hunting lease network?

6. Josh/OH

Josh/OH Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received: