How to not over pressure

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by CToutdoorsman, Apr 21, 2017.

1. CToutdoorsman

CToutdoorsman Administrator

Dislikes Received:
    I have two permissions that I can hunt through out the season, the problem is they are too small to hunt different stands both places only have two stand sites each and by the time the rut rolls around the deer are onto me. So my question is should I not hunt as much in the early season or just play with the hand I am delt?
    I hunt just about every weekend since I am a full time college student so I have to hit it hard when I can.
    Thanks,
    Paul

2. Josh/OH

Josh/OH Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I had a similar situation with 5 acres and one stand site. The big bucks stuck around, but stayed completely nocturnal. My remedy was to keep a cam rolling in the area, but hunt elsewhere in the early season. Check the cam(s) only when conditions are right -remember, entering the area to pull a card is pressure too!
    It's good to branch out anyway. It gives you the opportunity to mix things up... roll the dice a little more. Don't get me wrong; hunt smart, but also use it as a learning opportunity... maybe kill your doe(s) and build your confidence.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. Shocker99

Shocker99 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Very good advice! I'll add to it in that this is perfect scenario for the wireless cams. Those things are worth their weight in gold IF you are in a good network coverage area

Sent from my iPhone using Bowhunting.com Forums

CToutdoorsman and Josh/OH like this.
  4. ksWThntr

ksWThntr Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: