bowhunting turkeys

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by IndianaBowHunter18, Mar 16, 2017.

1. IndianaBowHunter18

IndianaBowHunter18 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I have been trying to shoot a turkey with my compound bow the past few years and just wanted to ask a few questions. How far will you shoot at a turkey with your bow? And also what broad heads do you guys use for bow hunting turkeys? I have been thinking about getting the spitfire xxx for turkey and deer has anyone used these broad heads before? And what is the best blind out there for turkey hunting because the blind I use now is hard to shoot a bow out of.

Indianabowhunter12 likes this.
  2. elkguide

elkguide Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    The farthest that I have shot a turkey was 35 yards.

I am not a mechanical head fan EXCEPT for turkeys.

I hunt out of a 'Lucky's Hunting Blind'. Lots of room to shoot.

3. tree_ghost

tree_ghost Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I will shoot out to 30 yards. 95% of my turkey kills have been inside 15 yards however. It will be up to you to determine your effective range to kill a turkey based on your abilities as a shooter and no one else's. For turkey hunting I use the cheap carbon express torrid heads and they are very effective. As far as a blind for hunting with a bow...double bull without a doubt

Sent from my iPhone using Bowhunting.com Forums

IndianaBowHunter18 likes this.
  4. Coop

Coop Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I have only been hunting them 2 years with a bow. Last year I missed one at 25 yards. I totally rushed the shot and blew it. But 25-30 has always been my planned limit, but 15 yards seems like a good distance. I use NAP Gobbler Getter heads, only time I use mechanicals. We used my friends well used Double Bull the last two years. Now I am in Texas I will I have to pick up a blind for myself. I have a True Timber V5 hub blind but I don't really like it.

fireball mike likes this.
  5. Indianabowhunter12