what is the correct arrow weight

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by remist17, Sep 19, 2016.

1. remist17

remist17 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    So I am new at archery. I have a older compound bow and I went and purchased some new arrows for it. I bought gold tip XT hunters. The person helping size the arrows left me with zero confidence that they are the correct weight.
    Can someone advise what the proper arrow weight would be for a person pulling a 30" draw, 60#? I guess I also need to know if the XT hunters I bought are the correct ones. I found the spline deflection for my draw length and weight is .330-.370". Can you tell me a little about this?

2. Parkerg31

Parkerg31 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    So the weight your talking about is actually arrow spine. The lower the number the stiffer the arrow. It sounds to me like it is close. You can go to the gold tip or Easton website and follow the charts with your specs and it will tell you the correct spine for your arrows. Arrow weight is in grains. Most people prefer a 400 grains or above for good penetration.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. bow nut

bow nut Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    400 or 340 and no L ( spine) lol

4. Pro V1

Pro V1 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    IMO with your draw I'd say 340's would be fine.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

5. indynotch50

indynotch50 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Welcome remist. He may not have been as far off as you think. Starting out, you're looking at weight in grains. You'll learn, you need weight in spine and grains.
    Arrow companies measure spine in .XXX and weight in X.X grains / inch