Peep Sight

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by ms_bowhunter30, Aug 4, 2011.

1. ms_bowhunter30

ms_bowhunter30 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    You will have to forgive me, I am kinda new to bowhunting and dont really know all the proper terminology. I shoot a Mathews Outback and recently began having problems with my peep sight. I have the peep sight with the rubber tube attached. First the tube kept coming off. I kept putting it back on and then my sight popped out of the string. I took it to the pro shop and had it put back in. After I got home, I shot about 10 times and the same thing. The sight popped out again. What could be causing this and what can be done to fix it?

2. srtiek

srtiek Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    just my personal choice i would ditch the tube peep and go for a fixed one. reason i chose a fixed one is because of the problems with the tube ones you described

3. Justin

Justin Administrator

Dislikes Received:
    The first issue with your peep tubing coming off certainly isn't uncommon. As the tubing wears out it stretches, which can cause your problem. Simply replacing the tubing, which is pretty inexpensive, should fix that.

Your second issue is a little more concerning. If your peep sight is tied in properly it really shouldn't ever come out of your string. I can see it wearing out over time and maybe loosening up to cause the first occurance, but any reputible shop should be able to tie in a peep with no problem and prevent it from happening again. Personally speaking, I would try taking your bow to another shop to have it looked over from top to bottom just to make sure nothing is wrong with it. If everything checks out have them re-tie the peep in again and see how things go.

4. tek4life

tek4life Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I'm with justin 100%