Arrow question advise.

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by abates352, Nov 21, 2016.

1. abates352

abates352 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Looking for a good hunting arrow to get the best of both world, speed and penetration. My current is a 500 grain Easton axis 300. With 125 grain broadhead. Really leaning towards the Easton hexx with 50-75 grain brass insert. 100 grain head. Finished arrow weight should be around 430-450 somthing like that. Prolly go back to 100 grain head if I can. Any suggestions, what is everyone using. I shoot a Nitrum Turbo 30 inch draw 72 DW. 30inch arrow.

Last edited: Nov 21, 2016
  2. kurveball18

kurveball18 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Honestly, I would stay with the axis for a hunting arrow. The Axis is one of the best selling hunting arrows out there as it was one of the first slim diameter arrows to come out I believe. I have been using the same dozen Axis arrows for like 8 years now. They are built tough, and hit like a ton of bricks.

The Hexx is a light weight arrow. Now you could make it a good hunting arrow by adding weight up front but I honestly think your going to be better off with the Axis over the Hexx especially at your poundage and draw length.

3. pitzer25

pitzer25 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    i currently shoot easton axis and i think its a great arrow. my arrows weigh in around 470g but my foc is awful so im looking at getting a lighter arrow with brass inserts to help my foc. if you wanna stay with the small diameter i would look at the easton d' torch. its a fast small diameter arrow. im also looking at gold tip velocity pro xt arrows

4. abates352

Dislikes Received:
    I agree, I love the axis. No complaints. Just heavy.

Last edited: Nov 22, 2016
  5. trial153

trial153 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: