Bow needs a "once over"

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by USAF Bowhunter, Aug 26, 2014.

1. USAF Bowhunter

USAF Bowhunter Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    My bow has been sitting for the last 4 years while I was overseas. I just got a new string put on it and new arrows as well. I have been shooting lately and I just feel that I am not aligned properly. Maybe it's just in my head, but I feel that it's off. At 20 yards I am consistently low and either left or right by about 2-3 inches. Also, my arrows are going into the target at a slight angle with the nock leaning to the left. I just wanted to check with you all before I start making a bunch of adjustments and really throw something off. I am a novice to the tuning part of archery. Is there any info you can give me to quickly diagnose a possible alignment problem? I appreciate any help! Just wanting to get ready for hunting season...at least up to the point of human error :)

2. frantzracing0

frantzracing0 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Take it to the shop and have them set it at centershot, then just walkback tune it and youll be good to go. BUT, for not shooting for 4 years It could also be a form issue.

3. gltomp

gltomp Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    ^^^ this ^^^
    Have it checked at a shop (that will set you with 'peace of mind' - which IMHO is critical in making good shots). Then just shoot. You might want to have someone at the shop check your form - you could be torquing the bow a 'tad.

Ain't it GREAT to be back in the USA (welcome home) so you can get back in the woods???? :nana:

4. KjKlump

KjKlump Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Yeah it could be that your just rusty.
    Tuning them is not really that difficult , just takes some time.
    You could also find out the specs if your bow and take some measurements to see if anything is out of whack.
    And you can also take it to a shop.
    How many shots do you have on the string?
    Who put your string on?