oklahoma public land

Discussion in 'Southwest' started by Hanson423, Aug 4, 2015.

1. Hanson423

Hanson423 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Im new to hunting and bow hunting, I have a question about hunting Oklahoma public land, so do you just go to a public land area and just park on the side of the road or something and just walking into the woods and find a place to hunt? Any help will be very much appreciated. I live in Edmond, I thought for my first try I go to thunderbird maybe and then go other places.

2. P.Smash

P.Smash Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Google earth man......helps a ton when scouting a new area :tu:

3. martin sabre1967

martin sabre1967 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Thunderbird has designated parking spots. You also have to go to the ranger station and get a 5 dollar parking permit to park. there are good deer there but most of the good spots are heavily hunted, but go during the week as most hunters have to work so they crowd it at the weekend.........Fort cobb is a great place to start hunting at. They have primitive camping spots and its got a healthy population of deer.

4. Hanson423

Hanson423 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    do you think there's a chance of luck if i just go out there and set up a blind and just hunt from there day same day? I have no one to teach me these things so I'm trying to learn on my own.

5. P.Smash

P.Smash Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    ^^^^when the rut is in full swing you can kill one in Wal-Mart parking lot, so yeah you could have some success. Are you restricted to hunting on the ground?

6. Hanson423

Hanson423 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Well I don't have a tree stand and costly wise I think it would be better for me to hunt from a blind.

7. P.Smash

P.Smash Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: