Help: Arrow weight, Speed, Kintetic Energy

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Stick&String96, Nov 11, 2015.

1. Stick&String96

Stick&String96 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Alright guys so I've been bowhunting deer for several years now, but just now decided to run the numbers on my bow.

My bow is shooting somewhere around 237-240 fps with a 355g arrow at 60 lbs. Do these numbers seems correct to you?

Based off of those numbers, my kinetic energy is only 45 ft-lbs, this seems a little low to me. Can my short draw length really affect my kinetic energy that much?

I have shot Rage 2'' mechanicals without a problem, they opened when they were supposed to and passed through. I have also shot sharp coc Slick Trick Razor Tricks. However, looking at these numbers, I think I'm going to start shooting the Slick Tricks again. Just to be safe.

All of the numbers I ran as well as the equipment I use are in my signature. Let me know what you all think. Thanks.

2. Mitchellhunt99

Mitchellhunt99 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I'd say those numbers sound alright, although they seem a little fast compared to my bow, and I have a 2 inch longer draw length and a few grains lighter arrow. I'm shooting a mission riot 60 pounds at a 27" draw with a 347 grain arrow and I'm getting 239 fps.... But I'm also shooting fixed blades, just to be safe like you said.

3. Stick&String96

Dislikes Received:
    The IBO speed for my bow is 305 fps at 28", I believe the IBO for yours is 310 at 30". If thats correct my bow will shoot a little faster at lower draw lengths than yours. But thanks, your numbers are pretty similar to mine.

4. Mitchellhunt99

Mitchellhunt99 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Ok I wasn't quite sure on what the ibo was on our bows. That would make sense thought.

5. T FERG

T FERG Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Stick with the slick tricks.

6. Stick&String96

Dislikes Received:
    Yepp, no reason so change

7. Slider46