extra meat for dog food

Discussion in 'Game Processing, Recipes & Cooking' started by Hanson423, Aug 11, 2015.

1. Hanson423

Hanson423 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    so im new to hunting and I plan on hunting my first deer this season, ive researched on processing a deer and everything and i see videos and these people would do away with little pieces of meat( like the lower legs and ribs), but my questions is what do you guys do with the extras, leftovers? ive wondered if you can use the extras, like the pieces of fat and extra little meat chunks, and feed to your dog? if so how do you got about doing this? should you cook it first? feed it to them raw? or what other things can you do with leftovers?

2. Christine

Christine Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I bone out the deer, then I take a hatchet and hack the carcass into small pieces that will fit in grocery bags so I could put them in the freezer. By the third or fourth deer of the season, I didn't have enough room in the freezer so I would just drag the carcass out back and let the dog and chickens fight over it. I always feed it raw.

After my lab was done there would only be some bits of jaw bone and chunks of femur and pelvis left. You could fit the leftover bone bits into a mayonnaise jar. She was pretty efficient.

She had a tougher time with elk bones. :)

I do the same for my current lab but she's young and doesn't chew up bones like my old girl did.

3. JakeD

JakeD Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I throw everything into a scrap bucket while I'm processing the deer. My two labs make pretty short work of most of it. BTW, I feed it to them raw.

4. CoveyMaster

CoveyMaster Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Always fed the trimmings to the dogs raw. The carcass I generally bury with a backhoe, I don't want to feed wild dogs or yotes.

5. BowBecca

BowBecca Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: