Newbie here with questions

Discussion in 'Videography & Photography' started by buckjunkie79, Jul 15, 2015.

1. buckjunkie79

buckjunkie79 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hello all. First post. Tried self filming a few times with a small HD cam. It took good footage, but didn't have lanc control. I recently purchased a used Canon G30 with Varizoom VZ Rock and Azden SMX-10 mic. I already had a Muddy Outfitter tree arm and Manfotto 701HDV fluid head.
    Played around with the camera a little. Think I'm gonna like this thing, but I have a few questions.
    Do you guys film in AVHD or MP4?
    When using manual focus, are all your other settings in auto (such as white balance, contrast, etc)?
    What do you set your custom dial and buttons to? Is there one that would be good for real late shots to help brighten the picture?
    I would appreciate any tips.

Thanks

2. Matt/TN

Matt/TN Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I just purchased a g20 and I'm still feeling my way around too. I'm interested in hearing the responses

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. drslyr

drslyr Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Film in the highest setting the camera will allow. I have the hfg20 which i believe is mxp. I use auto focus and touch an track its just 1 less thing to worry about when self filming. I recently hunted fl. boar and these cams are able to see before you can so no problem there. One of my cust. buttons is set to prerecord… 3second record before actually hitting the record button

4. Ryan A

Ryan A Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I use manual focus and use auto settings for everything else. Seems to work great. I also record in MP4 format. If im filming someone else ill use all manual settings (shutter, aperture, ect) but for self filming the auto works just fine.

5. Cledus

Cledus Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received: