Minerals, how much to put out?

Discussion in 'Food Plots & Habitat Improvement' started by ctrupp, Jul 5, 2015.

1. ctrupp

ctrupp Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I have been given a 20 lbs. bucket of Luck Buck. I have never used mineral on my property before and was wondering how much to put out at a site. I plan to put my trail camera's at the sites to get a better idea of the deer population. Thanks for the help.

2. Drivingtacks

Drivingtacks Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I think we put out about five pounds at a time but it depends on how often you can get out there. Put it all out if you want. You just want to make sure its there when the deer come by but if you miss a couple days they will come back.

3. Spear

Spear Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I recommend finding a stump or using a partially rotted log and dumping about 5-10 lbs worth on it and set a camera on it. Then check the camera after a few weeks and see if they are still frequenting the mineral site. If the deer frequency starts to slow down then you know about how much will last you 2 weeks. Then you can gauge how much mineral to put out and come up with a schedule. We typically put out a 25 lbs bag every other month on our 9 acres. It really depends on the property and how many deer are in the area.

4. SharpEyeSam

SharpEyeSam Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    ^THIS^

5. nutritionist

nutritionist Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I recommend 10-15 pounds per spot. I have had years where i have had 4 mineral sites on 160 acres and saw as much as 1400 lbs of consumption per year. I have tested every combination of salts and numerous flavors and here is what i am 100% confident in. Note i also formulate minerals for other nutritionists and companies. This is my passion and addiction,