Leased Out From Under Me

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by sycamoretwitch, Jun 17, 2015.

1. sycamoretwitch

sycamoretwitch Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    So I have been hunting a 56 acre property for 6 years in south western Indiana. Been food plotting and dabbled in "land management" for 4 to 5 years on this property. I was friends with the land owners son (elementary, middle, highschool and beyond) who recently passed away. I am good friends with the land owner and his wife or so I thought.

Unknown guy "down the road" comes in and offers him an undisclosed amount and land owner tells me I can keep the property for $750... I offer him $350 and he walks away. So our friendship is worth less than $500 I guess. He aint hurtin for money either.

To offer some perspective I'm on a 1,600 acre lease with 25 guys (fish, hunt, water foul, etc.) for $1,000 a person.

I have another private property I hunt manage that is 90 acres so all is not lost but this was a big hit. This was a good property for me that I loved, I had put a ton of hardwork and energy into it. Luckily all the food plot work I do is in August and I only plant annuals besides some clover (minimal cost). I could have afforded the $750 in the end it just wasn't worth it to me.

Rant over... Nothing to see here lol

2. Heckler

Heckler Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Not to trying to sound like **** but $750 didn't seem unreasonable to me. $350 was a steel. You should just be happy you had it as long as you did at that rate. Sounds like you have plenty of acreage to hunt. I know all to well that it sucks having land pulled out from under you! Thats how it goes. It doesn't seem like relationships matter as much as they use too. Land owner around here would rather lease land out to out of state hunters short term with outrageous rates then lease out to locals long term at a reasonable rate.

3. sycamoretwitch

Dislikes Received: