Wireless mics

Discussion in 'Videography & Photography' started by SparrowHawk, Feb 18, 2015.

1. SparrowHawk

SparrowHawk Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Who is using a wireless mic and which brand/model? I currently have the Samson um1/77. I have a hard time getting it dialed in, even with a beachtek I still get hiss. Now I am not sure if this is something that people clean up in editing? I am just getting into the editing aspect so not much experience there. I also am not a fan of how fast the batterys die. I know you get what you pay for and a wireless mic can be pricey, but I am ready to make the next step and add a decent mic to my canon G30, any advice?

2. MistaWondaBread

MistaWondaBread Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Get a Zoom H1 and a lapel mic and just slice in the audio.
    My production company has wireless mics, and we've spent a lot of money on them, but we still barely use them. It seems like no matter what we do, at some point we will get a hiss. We've basically bought H1ns, a lapel mic, and stick it in the pocket of whoever is doing the talking, and then synced audio in post. It's much easier to do that then to edit out a hiss cleanly in post. My current mindset is that if I don't need to use wireless mics, I won't. It's just too much work in post, and crappy audio makes a good video crappy. (They say audio is 50% of your video!)

I'd always recommend an H4N or H5 by zoom. They are fantastic audio devices, with amps and amazing features that have great high quality audio that you won't get anywhere else for the price. You can even hook it right into the G30. They will fit in a pocket, and will work with dang near any mic, from XLR to 3.5mm. It can even provide power to the mic.

3. jfergus7

jfergus7 Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    I have thought about getting the Zoom H1 but I know at some point I will turn on my camera and forget to turn on the mic. How long do the batteries last on it?