Taking video to a new level ... literally.

Discussion in 'Videography & Photography' started by DEC, Jan 15, 2015.

1. DEC

DEC Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I am kind of excited about this. After a ton of research, though, weighing the practical and legal "what ifs", and finally having my wife say "just buy it!" I finally pulled the trigger on a DJI Phantom 2 V2.0 with 3D gimbal. I already own a couple GoPro 3+ cameras.

I've been flying a couple "toy" quads for a few months now just to see if this was something that I really wanted to do. The idea of crash and burning with $1,400 worth of electronics took some serious debate. What I found is that if you can fly a hobby quad screaming through the confines of a house, then flying something like a DJI is a breeze (assuming that you have done your part on the front end).

This thing is crazy cool. However the "cool" factor is quickly quenched when you realize the FAA restrictions. So if you are thinking that you want one of these for video work, do your homework and realize the legal ramifications. The rules for these things have not been defined so basically you fall under commercial airplane pilot rules. I am talking Federal crimes if you break the current rules ... so do your homework and don't be stupid.

For now, I am simply going to use this thing for personal video work to add a splash to certain video projects. Once the FAA figures out how they are going to regulate the industry then I will decide from there where this hobby and aspect of video goes for me.