Newb Scent Control Question...

Discussion in 'Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by lupine_tendencies, Jan 21, 2013.

1. lupine_tendencies

lupine_tendencies Newb

Dislikes Received:
    So there is a severe shortage of quality hunting gear out there for women. Sure, I can use xxs men's or youth gear, but it just isn't the same. My question is if I buy REALLY good base layers and boots (I've heard good things about silver?) Do I really need scent control in all layers? I have a silver bag inside a tupperwear bin to store all my gear (which so far is a pair of gloves :P), and intend to wash with all the appropriate scent elimination products. Scent emanates from the skin out, and the breath, so the conclusion I draw is that a good base layer is all you need. But I am brand new to this, so any thoughts are appreciated.

2. Fuzz_27

Fuzz_27 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Last season all I used was the normal under armour base layer nothin fancy, but used W.R.C.'s Scent Killer Gold shampoo, laundry detergent and spray. Also I bought a pair of Scent Blocker gloves. An I got within 15 yards from 4 little does the ground. Granite wind working in my favor helped tremendously but they never winded me. Just a suggestion, and remember to spray the bottom of your boots with scent killer!

Last edited: Jan 21, 2013
  3. carnivore1

carnivore1 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I use sport wash to wash my clothes, shower with scent free shampoo and body soap and store my clothes in a rubbermaid tote. Then I spray with scent free spray when I get my clothes on at my hunting site. Other than that, I just play the wind. I own scent-lok clothing but haven't "activated" them in the dryer for three years. In my opinion, it doesn't work anyway, just keep them washed in scent free detergent and dry them outside.

4. carnivore1

carnivore1 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: