Minnesota

Discussion in 'Introductions - New User Forum' started by sphokkanen, Nov 30, 2016.

1. sphokkanen

sphokkanen Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hi everybody!

I am new to bowhunting and new to the forum but I was curious if anyone knew anything about elk hunting in Minnesota? I harvested my first whitetail with a bow this year and I have always wanted to chase elk, now with my bow! I was doing a little research and found that they offer up a few tags to hunt elk in the northwest part of Minnesota. I thought this would be a great and cheap way to get some elk hunting experience but looking at the DNR website they don't give out a whole lot of information. So if anyone has any information that would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Spencer

2. Sota

Sota Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Spencer yes there is limited Elk hunting in Minnesota I have been up there to Kittson County not to hunt but for other things like fire and search and rescue. My understanding in the Elk hunting area it is like wildnerness hunting no mechanical means are allowed to get the elk out, meaning man power.

3. sphokkanen

sphokkanen Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Thanks for the response that is really interesting! I am excited to find more about it. I know that it is a once in a lifetime tag, if you draw one you are not getting another whether you fill the tag or not.

4. TwoBucks

TwoBucks Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Hey buddy welcome to the site!

As far as elk hunting goes, I would strongly suggest starting with another state for a few reasons. First, the number of people drawn each year is very very low which means you will liekly be waiting multiple years to start your elk hutning adventure. I would suggest trying and OTC state or a preference point state first to get you started faster since I am guessing once you start you will be addicted!