New to Bowhunting

Discussion in 'Introductions - New User Forum' started by Dashua18, Aug 14, 2016.

1. Dashua18

Dashua18 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I'm just getting into bowhunting this year. I bought my first bow about a month ago. I got a Diamond Edge SB-1. I've been doing a lot of extra research since buying this bow and am starting to think maybe i was a bit hasty in purchasing this bow. I do enjoy shooting it and get pretty decent groups straight out of the box. What i didn't take into account is the fact that i have a 26" draw length and this bow maxes out at 318 fps. I'm working my way up to the 70 weight and sitting somewhere between 50-55 right now. Did i make a bad choice or am i overthinking things?

2. Daryl Bell

Daryl Bell Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Welcome!

3. Hoytxhunter

Hoytxhunter Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    welcome to the site. Its not all about speed and poundage. A 35# draw will kill a deer. If the price was good for you and the bow feels good to you then you did alright. Find out what your comfortable with. Anyone on here will tell you that you don't need to shoot 70# to get the job done. No need to tear your shoulder up, then you'll be left to shooting a Xbow. (no disrespect to the powderless long bullet shooters) lol

Don't be afraid to ask questions or thumb through old threads. There is a lot of info here. Just don't have thin skin we like to agitate sometimes. Its all in good fun tho. Enjoy

4. copperhead

copperhead Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: