Riser Slap

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by DJMP, Jan 16, 2016.

1. DJMP

DJMP Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hello everyone! I'm relatively new to archery. Typical shot-at-camp-but-now-getting-serious. I eventually want to get to the point where I can hunt with my friends. Right now I have a beginner compound, single cam, shooting targets (right hand). I recently found a damaged vane on one of my arrows, and noticed several others are marked. After some diggin I found they were hitting the riser. My biscuit seems to be set up pretty well for center shot, but looks like it puts the arrows to close to the riser. I can move the biscuit out a little but then the arrow sticks out/points to the left. I know I could take it to a bow shop, but I would rather learn to do it. All the videos and reading ive done address one way or the other, but not the balance. Anyo e else experience this and have any ideas?

Thanx in advance!

2. early in

early in Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Take it to a shop and have them show you what is not right with it, this way you will have learned something that may help you down the road.

3. trial153

trial153 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Out of curiosity how far, measured is the rises to the center of arrow when it's on the rest?

4. happyhunter

happyhunter Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    What bow is it? I can't imagine any bow without clearance for the vanes. Are you shooting fingers, or a release? Last question, does the string slap your arm?

5. DJMP

DJMP Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Thanx for the replies. Its a Genesis bow. Good point, I should take it to the shop and have them show me rather than just fix it for me. I guess im stuck in that place between not wanting to put a lot of money into such a basic (and limited from what ive heard and read) bow, and saving for a better one. But at this point, if it keeps ripping fletches and I dont fix it, it gets expensive anyway.