intro and new bow advice

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by WhiteMike, Aug 13, 2016.

1. WhiteMike

WhiteMike Newb

Dislikes Received:
    new member here. I live in the northern panhandle of Idaho and am not new to hunting but I have never bow hunted. I just bought a house on a nice chunk of land and have seen 4 different bucks and 2 spike elk, also a handful of turkeys and some coyotes. threw a trail cam, mineral lick and a stand out back to keep the white tail around. I started thinking I dont want to shoot my 7mm magnum on my poperty, id like to get a bow to keep it quiet and keep the wildlife hanging around. being a beginner i figured id go cheap and buy a package. i narrowed it down to the diamond infinite edge pro package based on reviews but alot of people said the accessories in the package are cheap and they replaced them, and it also seemed like a bow more geared towards kids. i didnt want to break the bank and buy a super nice bow since i have no experience but now im thinking i should just buy nice and not buy twice. Id like to get something ill be happy with and able to use for a long time that would also be able to down an elk with ease. Something that i can take to the mountains with an archery tag and not just drop white tail and turkeys in my yard. I would still like to keep it in total under 600$ for everything id need. Looking for some recommendations as i have no idea where to start. Thanks!:rock:

also I'm 6'0 200 lbs if that makes a difference

Last edited: Aug 13, 2016
  2. abates352

abates352 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I always encourage new archers to start with decent equipment, but no reason to spend money on something you don't like. I think the most important is going to a reputable dealer and have them set you up with a bow that FITS you. If they have several try the ones in your price range and let the bow pick you.

3. abates352

abates352 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: